Jan Allen creative writing competition 2014 – Junior winner

Winning entry Junior Section.

Lily Ray-14G-Year 7 S.E.A.L

 

 

The Song of a Victim

 

I scar my skin,

To help me feel,

It takes my pain,

And makes it real.

 

The deeper cuts,

You give to me,

They scar my soul,

Where none can see.

 

There is so little,

I can do,

To get away,

To protect myself from you.

 

When I am weak,

It makes you strong,

Alienate me,

And you belong.

 

From your hurtful taunts,

Your cruel abuse,

I must escape,

I must break loose.

 

I disappear,

Deep inside,

This is my only retreat,

My place to hide.

 

Hidden away,

I gather my strength,

And dream of a day,

I know will come at length.

 

Of when I steal my power,

Back from you,

When your days of superiority,

Are finally through.

 

And I know that some day,

All you’ll be,

Is just an ugly,

Memory…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*